Wk 12-Art Experience-Ethnography

This week I learned about Pre-Electric Culture. I chose to stay in my house for this experience, specifically my living room. I spent from dawn till dusk in my living room with nothing but myself to keep my occupied. I turned my phone off and put it away. I turned the lights out. I was unable to have access to television, internet, or electricity for a night and I can confidently say that I would not survive pre-electric culture on a daily basis. During the first hour of this experience I layed on my couch with my dogs and talked to them as if they understood me. Finding it hard to stay occupied with something, intense boredom fell upon me during hour 2 or this experience. For the duration of the time I spent awake, I fell into deep thought. I thought about my life and where it’s going. I thought about what I want to do for the rest of my life. Lastly, I thought about some of my goals and dreams and what I have to do to accomplish them. This experience is one I will never forget. Being a millennial, I was on the verge of going absolutely crazy. However, this experience was extremely humbling. I have a newfound appreciation for those who lived in these times and I live in awe about how they haven’t gone completely insane. I survived one night being lost in my own thoughts. I could not imagine spending my entire life like that. It felt as if I was the last human on this planet. I cannot fathom where their minds must have wandered off to when in such deep thought for so long. I am grateful for being born in this technological age and I am aware now of just how fortunate I am as a millennial. My mind wandered off in deep thought until I fell asleep. I don’t know around what time I fell asleep but I reckon it was fairly early because I woke up on my own around 7 o’clock am, which is very unlike me. IMG_5621.JPG.jpeg

Leave a Reply

